Umineko When They Cry Trophy Guide

Umineko When They Cry Trophy Guide

Umineko When They Cry Trophy Guide. Difficulty: *  A visual novel in the murder mystery genre with a splash of supernatural and even horror. Even if possessing no understanding of Japanese, the Platinum requires no skill, only text skipping.

Game Name Difficulty Trophies Developer Country Bronze Silver Gold Online DLC
Umineko no Naku Koro ni: Majo to Suiri no Rinbukyoku * 28 Alchemist / 07th Expansion Japan 10 11 6 0 0

Umineko When They Cry

Umineko No Naku Koro Ni: Majo To Suiri No Rinbukyoku, roughly translated as "When Seagulls Cry: the Rondo of a Witch and Reasoning," is a visual novel in the murder mystery genre with a splash of supernatural.

In October of 1986, a group of relatives set out for their yearly get-together at the Ushiroya family's mansion on an Izu island. Once everyone gets settled, the topic of discussion becomes the problem of the island's ownership and treasure. A ton of gold, which had been saved for financial security, has gone missing and the eldest son is the suspect. Also thrown into the story is the witch Beatrice, who long ago has been living in hiding on the island, and apparently has returned. While everyone gathers safely in the mansion without escape due to a coming typhoon, strange murders begin taking place, leaving behind letters from the witch Beatrice. Could these continuous deaths be at someone's hand, or are they the result of witchcraft?

Like most visual novels, the game uses voice actors, text and still images to tell the story. However, unlike many games in the genre, Umineko No Naku Koro Ni does not involve any choices to be made. The story, in all its entirety, takes roughly 50 hours to get through.

For more information, check out our Umineko No Naku Koro Ni Review


This may be considered the easiest Platinums in the PlayStation 3 library.

The game is a visual novel which doesn't require any choices to make. Though it takes 50 hours to complete, you needn't be present with the controller in hand. Simply load up an episode, and let it play. A nice Platinum to earn while you're sleeping or at work.

Knowledge of Japanese is not necessary for the Platinum.

First, at the main menu, select Config. Once you exit out, you'll have earned your first trophy.

Next, select Episode 1. Once it begins, you can hit R1 and let it play by itself. At this point, you can either watch and read the text (if you understand Japanese) or play your Vita, go to sleep, or head off for work. Each episode is around 12 hours or so.

Once it's finished, head back into the main menu and select Tea Party, then Episode 1. Again, you can hit R1 and let it play out. The Tea Party story takes about 45 minutes.

Then, go back into the main menu and select ????, then Episode 1. Hit R1 to let it play out. The ???? story is about 1 hour and 15 minutes.

Then from the main menu, select Characters, and Episode 1. Select each character with the "New" icon by pressing circle. Also, flip between the alive and dead characters by pressing L1 and R1.

Finally, go back into the main menu and select Tips, and Episode 1. Again, select each tip with the "New" icon by pressing circle.

From then on, follow these same steps in the same order for Episode 2, 3, and 4. If you followed them correctly and used the R1 button, you should have the platinum by the end.

If you're still missing the 50 Hours of Playtime and/or 30,000 Lines of Text trophies, simply load up another episode and let it play out with the R1 button.

Other than the steps we've posted under the Advice tab, trophy guides aren't all that necessary for the Platinum. But we've got a few just in case:

Here's a great Trophy Guide, by Aeliana:

This is a breakdown of the Time for each episode, provided by j4stringthang:

Lastly, here's a basic Trophy List: